A scenic re-reading of Salvatore Sciarrinos acousmatic theatre by nyMusikk Bergen.

Sofia Jernberg voice
Bjørnar Habbestad flute
Morten Barrikmo clarinet
Kari Rønnekleiv violin
Anna Lindal violin
Lene Grenager cello

Premiered in Bergen in February 2013, performed by Swedish singer Sofia Jernberg and an handpicked ensemble put together by nyMusikk Bergen. Based on Jules Laforgue’s short story, the performance takes the theme of reality, madness and illusion as a point of departure and integrates musicians, scenery and sound design in a play on absence and presence. The piece depicts Elsa’s short and unhappy marriage to Lohengrin, set mostly in a dreamlike, mythical landscape.

Stockholm, Sound of Stockholm
Hudderfield Festival of Contemporary Music
Bergen, BIT Teatergarasjen
Harstad, Illiosfestivalen
Halmstad, Opera festival
Göteborg, Sinnober Teater

Svenska Dagbladet
5 against 4